PoemTree6

poems by Rudolf Kurt Penner

Calling All Angels

Calling all Angels
All Old Angels aboard;
the Vessel is sinking
the pirates are drinking
the cook has arthritis
the nightwatchman and his stars – are one
the mast is high
in night sea air
the crow’s nest – a perfect example

fish dart furtively
under the backwash
below deck the Angel of Awe
has it out with one of the Captains –
– of Industry

the nightwatchman-watches his stars

©  2012 Rudolf Kurt Penner

July 8, 2012 Posted by | All Poems, social commentary, spiritual | Leave a comment

BROKEN COMPANIONSHIPS BLEEDING DOWN THE TRAINTRACKS

BROKEN COMPANIONSHIPS BLEEDING DOWN THE TRAINTRACKS
Cutting ribbons on ceremony
steeplechase
snoring routine
walking, walking, and never running
the slack is never taken up
that’s why the yo-yos
unbound but perfect
wading in water
never going for a swim
act like simpleminded motions will save the day and carry on

tap dancing before fires roaring in camp lodge fireplaces
huge and daring
accosting the sweat glands
tearing up the eyes
swatting off the flies
gasoline and smell of campfire coffee  going home
to the nose
making every grass to use
drawing up branches
broken and ashen
standing there leaning in

©  2012 Rudolf Kurt Penner

July 8, 2012 Posted by | All Poems, making speeches/Soapbox, social commentary | Leave a comment

beach capsule

Tap tap I hear all your crap
they tell me you got problems
I’m dying to see
like all the water fludding down the plain
I see your face again, the same;
It’s not much to ask you pack your bags
what’s it worth to you to do some chores

put a sandbag in the gap
where they can see the yellow-smelling flowers
Take me there
too far to take a wagon
down the sodden track
I see your face again, I blame myself
I saw your work going down the sink

Snap snap I’m gonna snore
like all old men upon the shore
with their babes hanging onto their
plastic-strap aluminum lawnchairs
It wasn’t much to ask
and I was in a jam

©  2012 Rudolf Kurt Penner

(this poem contains a link to one of my favorite childhood songs)

July 8, 2012 Posted by | All Poems, love & relationships | , , | Leave a comment

The Wheel Keeps On Turning

(excerpts from The Wheel Keeps on Turning)

…Makin’ a whole lotta Cash
Sinbad now plays the geetar…

…I hope he learns to sing
…leaning on the rail
and the Wheel keeps on turning…

…two losers in bed
neither human
nor ashamed…

…I bought my souvenir
of a better time…

…Back-to-back hits charging out radio speakers
always the same, always lame…

…Magpies and scorpions overhead…

…Choking on dying plants
and cosmic rants…

…The leaves are brown for sure…

…and the Wheel keeps on turning…

(to get the poem in its entirety please contact me)

©  2012 Rudolf Kurt Penner

July 8, 2012 Posted by | All Poems, esoteric/unintelligible, Not Fade Away, social commentary | , | Leave a comment

XYZANDABC
P IMPLYRAI
NPEARLING
EVERYONEI
NTHEL I NE-
UPQUEUEW
AI T I NGFO
RFR ES HFL
OWERSIME
ANFOOD

©  2012 Rudolf Kurt Penner

July 8, 2012 Posted by | All Poems, Concrete Poems, esoteric/unintelligible, flowers and trees; girls and bees, Not Fade Away, self healing poems, spiritual | Leave a comment

Becoming

(excerpt from Becoming)

…healing all the bees
that are flying through the trees…

…where is the broken vase that caused so much trouble
now, becoming rich in small things
It is becoming…

(to get the whole 42 line poem contact me)

©  2012 Rudolf Kurt Penner

July 8, 2012 Posted by | All Poems, flowers and trees; girls and bees, social commentary | Leave a comment